Share a Markup (Waypoint, Line, Shape or Track) with another onX user. Once the other user receives the Markup, only the original creator of the Markup will be able to edit it.
Markup Sharing will only work when connected to a mobile data or wi-fi network. Unfortunately, smartphones and tablets do not have the ability to transmit any information without an active connection.
Sharing a Markup With Another onX Hunt User
Only the original creator of the Markup will be able to share it. Markups that are Shared with you by another user cannot be Shared or edited.
- Locate the Markup you want to share on your map. If the Markup does not exist yet, create a new Markup at that location.
- Tap the Markup's icon on the map.
- Tap "Share" in the message bubble above the Markup:
- A menu of messaging apps will appear on your screen. You use one of these apps to share a link with the other onX Hunt user. onX recommends using text or email, as these are generally the easiest.
NOTE: When Sharing a Photo Waypoint, the photo attached to the Waypoint will only transfer when both devices are connected to wi-fi, so the onX Hunt App won't use up all your mobile data. When syncing between devices without wi-fi, the Waypoint will transfer but the attached photo will not.
Receiving a Markup From Another onX Hunt User
- You will receive a message from the creator of the Markup that begins with: "I want to share..."
This message will most likely arrive via text or email. If you are unable to locate the message, ask the creator of the Markup what method they used to share it.
- The message will contain a link that looks like this: "https://huntsmarter.app.link/xxxxxxxxx." Tap the link in the message.
The onX Hunt App will open to the location of the shared Markup and ask if you want to add it to your map and content:
- Tap the red "Yes, add it" button to add the Markup to your map and My Content Menu.
The shared Markup will be listed under the date it was originally created, not the date you received it.
NOTE: When receiving a shared Photo Waypoint, the photo attached to the Waypoint will only transfer when both devices are connected to wi-fi, so the onX Hunt App won't use up all your mobile data. When syncing between devices without wi-fi, the Waypoint will transfer but the attached photo will not.
Editing a Shared Markup
Only the original creator of the Markup will be able to edit.
- To edit a Markup, open the My Content Menu and tap "Edit:"
- Make your changes to the Markup and tap the red "Save" button:
Any onX Hunt users you've shared the Markup with will see the changes to the Markup in their account.
- Other users you've Shared with will be able to view the Markup's details, but not edit it.
- The padlock icon () next to the Markup's name indicates that the Markup cannot be edited by this account.
Deleting a Shared Markup
- When the original creator of the Markup deletes it, the Markup will also be removed from the map and My Content Menu of everyone it was shared with.
- When a user who receives the shared Markup deletes it, the Markup will only be removed from their map and My Content Menu.
Sharing Multiple Markups at Once
If you have a large number of Markups or do not want to share them one-by-one, there is an alternative method for sharing multiple Markups at the same time.
- Use the onX Hunt Web Map's Export feature to save your Markups to your computer.
- You can then send this Markup file to another onX User for them to save into their account using Web Map. The easiest way to send the file is via email.
The Import and Export functions are meant for transferring your content into other mapping programs, so onX-specific information will not be preserved. This includes: names, notes, colors, Line weights, Waypoint Photos and icons.
NOTE: If you use this method to share, the Markups will be saved into the other user's account as if they created the Markups themselves. You will not be able to remove or edit the Markups in the other user's account yourself.